Specialist Accreditation

accredited specialist.jpg

The Specialist Accreditation Scheme was created by the Law Society of NSW to help the general public identify solicitors who have demonstrated proficiency in their particular area of law. It is a mark of distinction recognised by both their peers and by the Law Society.

Less than 7% of NSW Lawyers have their Specialist Accreditation.

Solicitors who fulfil the requirements of the Accreditation are entitled to use, after their name, the words ‘accredited specialist’ in the nominated area of practice.

Each state in Australia has different rules regardingaccreditation. In NSW, solicitors undergoa rigorous process to gain their specialisation. Before gaining their accreditation, under the requirements of the Law Society of NSW Specialist Accreditation Scheme, a solicitor must have: 

  • practised full-time for at least five years
  • worked in their area of speciality for at least three years, and
  • passed rigorous assessments in communication, problem solving, client relations and, of course, the law.

Each and every year after accreditation, a solicitor must also continue to improve their knowledge and skills base in this area.

To be eligible for this accreditation a solicitor must:

  • Have at least 5 years experience and to have been substantially involved in Family Law for at least 4 years.

  • To have at least 25% of his or her practice in that area.

  • Pass the rigorous examination and selection process for specialist accreditation.

  • Undertake continuing legal education in the Family Law area.

Specialist accreditation is your assurance of:

  • Quicker service and more cost effective results

  • Quality service

  • Access to lawyers with higher levels of communication skills