Specialist Accreditation

accredited specialist.jpg

The Specialist Accreditation Scheme was created by the Law Society of NSW to help the general public identify solicitors who have demonstrated proficiency in their particular area of law. It is a mark of distinction recognised by both their peers and by the Law Society.

Less than 7% of NSW Lawyers have their Specialist Accreditation.

Solicitors who fulfil the requirements of the Accreditation are entitled to use, after their name, the words ‘accredited specialist’ in the nominated area of practice.

Each state in Australia has different rules regarding  accreditation. In NSW, solicitors undergo  a rigorous process to gain their specialisation. Before gaining their accreditation, under the requirements of the Law Society of NSW Specialist Accreditation Scheme, a solicitor must have: 

  • practised full-time for at least five years
  • worked in their area of speciality for at least three years, and
  • passed rigorous assessments in communication, problem solving, client relations and, of course, the law.

Each and every year after accreditation, a solicitor must also continue to improve their knowledge and skills base in this area.

John Cox is one of the few Personal Injury lawyers in NSW accredited as Personal Injury expert by the Law Society of NSW. This means that not only has he met the strict standards as an expert through the rigorous process of examination but that he continues on a yearly basis regular ongoing education and training to maintain the accreditation.

Adam West  is accredited by the law Society of NSW as a Family Law Specialist. Because of the complex nature of law today, no single practitioner can be an expert on "the law" in its entirety. In New South Wales the Law Society has recognised this and has made it possible for practitioners with expertise in Family law to become accredited specialists.

To be eligible for this accreditation a solicitor must:

  • Have at least 5 years experience and to have been substantially involved in Family Law for at least 4 years.

  • To have at least 25% of his or her practice in that area.

  • Pass the rigorous examination and selection process for specialist accreditation.

  • Undertake continuing legal education in the Family Law area.

Specialist accreditation is your assurance of:

  • Quicker service and more cost effective results

  • Quality service

  • Access to lawyers with higher levels of communication skills

For more information see both our Accredited Specialists John Cox & Adam West.

Llama Blue

Llamablue specialises in Squarespace and provides web design, web hosting, online stores and SEO strategies for businesses in and around Australia, USA, UK, Europe and internationally. Llamablue hosts customer websites in Australia - Adelaide, Melbourne, Sydney, Canberra, Brisbane, Sunshine Coast, Gold Coast and now in the USA. We are expanding rapidly and can help you wherever you are based. So let's talk.